Coronavirus (Covid-19)

In Gladestry School we are doing all that we can to keep pupils and staff safe.

 

Information regarding Powys County Council’s ongoing arrangements are available at
https://en.powys.gov.uk/coronavirus

or through their Facebook and Twitter accounts –

www.facebook.com/PowysEducation  and  www.twitter.com/powyseducation

 

More information is available by following these links –

Looking After Yourself

https://gov.wales/education-coronavirus

 

Lunch Menus & School Meal Information

Menus:

Primary Menu Nov 2020-March 2021

Primary lunch menu_Summer 2019

Meals are brought in daily and are enjoyed by the children. Vegetarians are catered for (please follow the links above to see the menus). The cost from 1st September 2020 is £2.30 per meal. Payments are made using the ParentPay system, see https://www.parentpay.com/ for details. Please ask us at school for your initial password to activate a ParentPay account.

If you are on a low income, you can get help with the cost of school meals. More information and application forms are available at

https://en.powys.gov.uk/article/3758/Free-school-meals-and-help-with-school-clothing

If you register for free school meals, even if your child decides never to have a school lunch, you could help our school and other schools in Powys to benefit from funding because you have registered.To register is easy and confidential, you don’t have to tell the school.

The Welsh Government have introduced an annualised net earned income threshold for Universal Credit claimants who wish to claim free school meals for their children. Please see Information leaflet for more details: FSM in Wales – Information for Schools

Children can bring packed lunches if preferred. You may find the suggestions in the following link helpful – Healthy Lunchboxes Leaflet (Welsh Government)

 

 

Admission Information

Children start school at the beginning of the Autumn Term following their 4th birthday.

We are aware that starting school can be an exciting time for children and parents so to help new arrivals settle in as smoothly as possible we invite all new parents to an initial meeting at which class arrangements and an induction programme are outlined.

As a school we try to ensure that the needs of every child admitted are met. All pupils regardless of ability or disability participate in all aspects of school life. Our accessibility plan is regularly reviewed by Governors.

All applications for admission to Gladestry School are dealt with by Powys County Council. Details of their admissions process and an application form are available at:

http://www.powys.gov.uk/en/schools-students/apply-for-a-school-place/

The application window for pupils wishing to join us in September 2021 will open on Monday 5th October 2020 and close on Friday 8 January 2021.

If you would like to arrange a visit or if you require more information please contact us on 01544 370207 or by email to office@gladestry.powys.sch.uk

School Calendar

Term dates for Year 2020 – 2021

Autumn Term 2020

Thursday 3rd September 2020 to Friday 16th October 2020

Half-Term: Monday 19th October 2020 to Friday 30th October 2020 (2 weeks)

Monday 2nd November 2020 to Friday 18th December 2020

Spring Term 2021

Tuesday 5th January 2021 to Friday 12th February 2021

Half-Term: Monday 15th February 2021 to Friday 19th February 2021

Monday 22nd February 2021 to Friday 26th March 2021

Summer Term 2021

Tuesday 13th April 2021 to Friday 28th May 2021

Half-Term: Monday 31st May 2021 to Friday 4th June 2021

Monday 7th June 2021 to Friday 16th July 2021

Non-Pupil Days 20/21

Tuesday 1st September 2020

Wednesday 2nd September 2020

Monday 21st December 2020

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Monday 4th January 2021

Monday 12th April 2021

Useful Dates 20/21

Good Friday: Friday 2nd April 2021

Easter Monday: Monday 5th April 2021

May Day Bank Holiday: Monday 3rd May 2021

Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 31st May 2021

Royal Welsh Show: Mon 19th – Thurs 22nd July 2021

ParentPay

ParentPay is the cashless system through which school meals may be paid for and can also be used by parents to pay other amounts such as contributions towards swimming transport, school trips, etc. Details will be sent out from school when relevant.

It is much appreciated if parents who use this system keep their accounts up to date.

How to guides are posted here:

CASHLESS_Adding-and-using-Parent-Account-credit

CASHLESS_Frequently Asked Questions

CASHLESS_How-to-pay-for-items

CASHLESS_How-to-set-up-email-and-text-alerts

CASHLESS_How-to-add-a-child-to-your-account

 

Emergency School Closure

Please note that if the school is to be closed for any reason, such as severe weather, utilities failure, etc., parents will be notified by telephone via the cascade system that we have in place. A notice should also appear on the Powys County Council website: www.powys.gov.uk. If you wish to know who will contact you please ask your child’s teacher or the school secretary.